Friday, July 2, 2010

Samuel Johnson Prize 2010

Nothing to Envy: Real Lives in Korea by Barbara Demick wins the 2010 BBC Samuel Johnson Prize.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

U.S. Poet Laureate

W.S. Merwin appointed 17th Poet Laureate of the United States.
Merwin has won the 2005 U.S. National Book Award for Migration: New and Selected Poems and a Pulitzer Awards in 2009 for 'The Shadow of Sirius' .

New Ireland Professor of Poetry

Awarded to Harry Clifton.

Most recent collection Secular Eden: Paris Notebooks 1994-2004

Wales Book of the Year 2010

Winner: Philip Gross- I Spy Pinhole Eye (Poetry)